HU for WAV files

Participant count
  • Participant list

Igo

I've been installing car audio since 1974 but I only surface every few years when I'm ready to update my system or a friends. Right now I'm obsessed with the idea that processers have come along well enough and storage space is cheep enough that its time for me to trash MP3 and wma files in exchange for a lossless compression file. I just did a rather extensive sound deadening project in my car and have determined that I can now easily hear the difference in SQ between MP3 and a well recorded CD. So, I find that I can rip as WAV files to a thumb drive and play back to my computer these wav files and I can organize these files in cue files but I am unable to determine with my recent research exactly if I can burn these wav files onto a thumb drive and extract them with a new head unit. I see that a few new HU can play wav files through their USB port/s but I'm not exactly sure if they are talking about being able to listen to voice messages through USB ports and phones or can we now play back cataloged un-compressed WAV files off of thumb drives and thru the HU controls without smart phone assist?

I don't carry a phone with me most of the time and I'm only looking at single din HUs. I just want to rip all my CDs to a 128GB thumb drive and listen from there thru a USB point. Can this be done?

On paper, I'm thinking the Kenwood KDC-X998 and the Sony MEX-GS810BH look good. I've always run Kenwood Excelon but I hate that recent models of Excelon are freezing and hanging up and that to change a radio station you have to drop into several layers to do it. I am also skeptical that Sony may not be on par with traditional button key Excelons. Does Sony Mex rate with Kenwood Excelon these days? I'm also very interested in HD radio and strong reception.

Can somebody bring me into the new millennium please? Thanks a bunch in advance.

Hmmm. This looks worth investigation.