how hard is it to install remote start?

.::DuD3::.
10+ year member

EE in training
im thinking of buying my dad this viper keyless entry and remote start kit for christmas. i can get it for super cheap, but i'd have to install it myself. i have a lot of experience installing hu's and amps and stuff, but have yet to try anything like this. i do know it wouldn't need a bypass or relay. should i go for it?

The difficulty of a remote start installation depends mostly on the vehicle. What kind of vehicle would you be installing it in?

If you go to http://www.the12volt.com you can download installation manuals of many remote start systems. Download a manual, read it through, and decide if you understand it. IMO, you shouldn't attempt to install a remote start or alarm unless you're confident you can troubleshoot it if it doesn't work properly.

You also need to be comfortable using a DMM to identify vehicle wiring.

If it is the first remote start you are going to do I wouldn't want to do it on my dad's car. Also as stated above, how hard it is really depends on the car.

well its going to be going into a toyota tundra. i've looked at the forums at the12volt.com before in the installation bay, but i cant do it now because im at work. but is it really all that hard?

what year tundra? i just installed the viper 160xv in my dads 03 deville saturday afternoon, with my buddy who does alot of them. i have installed my own not hard on a car with no bypasses needed but when u get into bypass's they get confusing sometimes. i would say find a buddy who has installed atleast 20 of them and have him help you do it. kuz that way he will know how to trouble shoot it if something happens

imo. if you never did it before, have a shop do it

you tap into some vital wires. which can leave him stranded if somthing comes lose. or worse.

iv done lots of tundra's. no bypass needed.