Help!

Participant count
  • Participant list

gofast922

I am new to the whole sound system installing thing. I build cars with my father and we have decided to put a small sytem in our 72 Nova. We purchased 2 10" Profile Baja subs and a 400 watt amp to go with it. The amp installed just fine and all and we hooked it up to the subs and that is where the trouble started. the speaker is moving but there is no bass hardly at all. I have two jensen 6x9's by the back window that make more bass than these subs. I changed the subs out with 2 pioneers an i had the same thing. The subs were in a vented box. is this the reason for no bass. Do i need and encosed box? I also adjusted the sensitivity and the bass level on the amp and it done no good. i have the crossover set at 40hz. Can somebody please help.

Originally posted by gofast922 I am new to the whole sound system installing thing. I build cars with my father and we have decided to put a small sytem in our 72 Nova. We purchased 2 10" Profile Baja subs and a 400 watt amp to go with it. The amp installed just fine and all and we hooked it up to the subs and that is where the trouble started. the speaker is moving but there is no bass hardly at all. I have two jensen 6x9's by the back window that make more bass than these subs. I changed the subs out with 2 pioneers an i had the same thing. The subs were in a vented box. is this the reason for no bass. Do i need and encosed box? I also adjusted the sensitivity and the bass level on the amp and it done no good. i have the crossover set at 40hz. Can somebody please help.
Well, I'm no Pro, but a couple things to check...

1) You said that you were adjusting the "sensitivity and the bass level"... I'm not quite sure what you mean by that, but if you didn't mean gain then you might want to try kicking that up a bit.