Head Unit Advice

Participant count
  • Participant list

mstan2221
10+ year member

MI
I'm new to car audio stuff and i was curious what a good head unit would be to start out with. Ill porbably run a sub to it and end of switching my door speakers too if that helps. any input is appreciated! Also i heard kenwood excelon is a good head unit and if you know anything about it.

i just picked up a kenwood excelon x995 from ebay for 240 bucks new and its a really awesome unit. and id recommend it.

you really cant go wrong with any pioneer, kenwood, or higher end jvc in my opinion as long as it has all the features you want.

theres also a lot of headunits that are coming out soon and look pretty awesome. heres a few of em. they probally kick *** but you'd have to wait a little.

JVC Arsenal KD-A95BT CD receiver at Crutchfield.com

Pioneer DEH-P9400BH CD receiver at Crutchfield.com

id def recommend getting a head unit with a 5 band or more eq.

just do some research, check reviews all that fun stuff. your on the right track by starting with the head unit.

I have had so many head units and the one I have now will never leave my dash. Alpine CDA-117. they are discontinued but you can still get them new. i got mine from Crutchfeild with the free dash kit and harness for $350. The SQ is perfect and the EQ, although limited is just right. And it has a time correction feature for the perfect dial in

i just picked up a kenwood excelon x995 from ebay for 240 bucks new and its a really awesome unit. and id recommend it.
you really cant go wrong with any pioneer, kenwood, or higher end jvc in my opinion as long as it has all the features you want.

theres also a lot of headunits that are coming out soon and look pretty awesome. heres a few of em. they probally kick *** but you'd have to wait a little.

JVC Arsenal KD-A95BT CD receiver at Crutchfield.com

Pioneer DEH-P9400BH CD receiver at Crutchfield.com

id def recommend getting a head unit with a 5 band or more eq.