Good Deal?

Participant count
  • Participant list

bradpitch92

A friend of mine is getting me a deal at a car audio shop he works at and I am pretty new to car audio stuff and not really sure if its a good deal or not.

I have a '85 BMW 635CSi with an aftermarket head unit and four 4X6 speakers. My sound is awful.

My deck will be the Alpine CDE-143BT and he's giving it to me for $100. 18 RMS X 4 channels

My speakers will be the Kenwood FCX-463C 4X6 speakers (all around) that I'm getting for $70/pair. I don't really mind that it's still gonna be more expensive than online prices, it's much cheaper than the in store price and I will be getting virtually free installation. These are 30 RMS each.

My sub will be the Renegade 12in single sub and I'm getting that for $70 which includes the box. I found the sub for about $40 online at Creative Car Audio. Specs are:

300 Watts RMS, 500 Watts Max.

Impedance 4 Ohms

My amp will be the Renegade REN 1100 S that I'm getting for $90, and was able to find online at amazon for $91 bucks. It's a 4 channel too and the specs are:

4 x 75 Watts RMS into 4 Ohms

4 x 135 Watts RMS into 2 Ohms

He also said that my amp kit will cost about $30 and RCA will cost about $10. Is this about the normal price?

So I'm getting all that for $440. That's not super awesome and probably about the same if I wanted to buy everything online, but the sweet thing is the installation is going to cost me some beer which I'll gladly pay, and I can switch out Subs or Amps or Speakers whenever and I know he'll replace anything if I don't like it, blow it out, or want to try new stuff.