Go bigger and ported or stay small and sealed question

Participant count
  • Participant list

kustomciv
10+ year member

Florida
I want to start this off by saying I am a newb, so forgive me.

I have a 10" sub that I got a few months back and have had it about 300watts under powered due to not having a better amp. But now I am getting ready to upgrade my amp and I am wondering if I should change my box while I am at it, I am not looking for box plans just a recommendation as to whether or not I should go bigger/ported

According to the manual for my subwoofer (diamond audio Macdaddy 10) it states it is designed for small sealed enclosures and that the more power given to the sub - The smaller the box should be - the harder it will hit on the lows

Now I had seen my exact same sub in a large ported box before (single sub, ported box was around 2.4 cubic feet) and it sounded pretty good, I wouldn't say it hit super hard but it had a lot more loud bass than I have.

But I thought it was best to go with manufacturers specs and I went with a tiny box 0.7 cubic feet

(smaller than recommended for what I am currently powering it with but I knew I would be upgrading at a later date)

Now I am questioning if this is the right box for me, I want something that hits hard on the lows and I do not have that right now. I don't know if just upgrading the amp will be enough or if I should look at changing my box as well. Ported..sealed...smaller..larger... I am not sure so if anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it

A ported box designed correctly will give you exactly what you want. If it is still not enough time for a new sub.