Check your COOLANT/ANTIFREEZE often

Raffi
10+ year member

Bring our TROOPS HOME!!!!
1st thing I am not a mechanic or play one on TV. My radiator had a crack and slow leak(did not know about it) and finally exploded :mad:this weekend. I put in a new radiator(proud of my self) with new 50/50 cooloant/antifreeze and now my AC and heater work perfectly:D. The Ac compressor would go off after 5-10 minutes then blow warm air.. I guess not having enough coolant did not let the AC work like it should........... Moral of the story is check your coolant/antifreeze to make sure its not old and has enough..LESSON LEARNED.... :p

PS...

Not to mention you engine could blow.

yeah i just found out mine has a leak in it somewhere...
Blazers are POS by the way.

Take care of it b4 its too late................//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/eek.gif.771b7a90cf45cabdc554ff1121c21c4a.gif

I check the level of my coolant a couple of times a week, I flush and fill the cooling system once a year.

My Toyota has 352k miles on it as of today, and my next goal is a half-million.

CaptainobviousChooseOption.jpg

The Ac compressor would go off after 5-10 minutes then blow warm air.. I guess not having enough coolant did not let the AC work like it should........... Moral of the story is check your coolant/antifreeze to make sure its not old and has enough..LESSON LEARNED.... :p
EH?

The AC system is independant of your engine coolant system. (Unless you drive a Ford and the condenser is integrated into the radiator)

Low radiator coolant should have no effect on AC operation other than overriding the secondary AC fan, if equipped.

The Cycling of the AC compressor is normal, unless it's doing a constant cyclic action. Constant cycling generally means too high of AC line pressure - meaning you overfilled your R134A refrigerant, and the BCM is not allowing the compressor to kick in so your AC lines don't blow up in your face.