Broken Tinsel lead repair?

wong05tsx
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
Oakland, CA
Can't seem to find a DIY on how to repair/replace the lead. Any help?

This is on a 10" SSA Icon that i've been running for 2+ years now

IMG_8123.jpg

IMG_8124.jpg

Could try soldering back together. But when I tried it was a PITA, so I ended up just reconing.....Another option that MAY work is solid copper OR just uninsulated buttconnectors. I don't see this posing a problem other than possibly slapping the cone so maybe get a felt pad to put above the leads on the cone as well.

Could try soldering back together. But when I tried it was a PITA, so I ended up just reconing.....Another option that MAY work is solid copper OR just uninsulated buttconnectors. I don't see this posing a problem other than possibly slapping the cone so maybe get a felt pad to put above the leads on the cone as well.
I thought about the butt connectors but was afraid that it would tear the spider. The felt pad is a good idea - would I epoxy a piece to the cone AND a piece on the spider?

It Shouldn't tear the spider. I would just put a piece on the cone. Do this and play it free air on a 20hz tone, and keep increasing volume until you feel you are at close to max excursion so you can see if it is going to damage it in the long run.

Did the butt connector as suggested. Everything is working right now - hope it'll last.

I took a regular 12ga butt connector and stripped the plastic part of it. After 30min of wrestling with the wires in the tight space I finally got the tinsels connected. DMM check=good. I topped it off with some gorilla tape around it for some extra padding/security. Tested in the car and evverything seems to be good.

Didn't get to turn it up since its 12am and don't want to wake the friendlies.

Thanks ascitiesburn69