Amp worked for close to 2 years, smokes one day at low volume (Gets Interesting)

Gxp123

So I have a Boss CE 4800w amp powering a power Akoustik mofo 152x that I have been using for about 2 years now. However one day while i was driving a heard a pop and hissing noise coming from the negative battery terminal on the amp. I tried re-wiring that terminal and what ended up happening is it would play for about 10 mins and then eventually it would lose power and start to smell again.

What I did next was reground the cable to the amp, and it turns out the ground was very loose. After regrounding it and checking the ohms of the ground, it read close to 0 so I assumed that the location was fine. I reattached the ground cable firmly into its socket and then bolted it back onto the metal sheet. I turn the sub back on and bam, it works again. I play the system at full power for 20 mins and it works fine with 0 drops in power.

Here is where things get interesting, I leave the car for two days sitting (because it is a weekend) and I turn it on monday morning and suddenly the amp is in protect mode, and it wont even turn on. I rechecked the ground cable and it was fine, I even checked all the wires plugging into the amp and refitted them. The thing still would not budge.

So i ordered another Boss CE 4800w monoblock and I installed it the same way I did the first one. And guess what, the amp WORKED. It tuned it and set the gains and then after two weeks of no problems, this amp decides to one day not turn on and go into protect mode. So this is where I am now. I have no clue what is going on because I haven't changed the wiring at all since two years ago and it worked fine until very recently.

Some other things i have done is test the voltage from my battery (approx 14v) and unplug all the rca and speaker wires to the sub. Still the thing wont budge. Im kind of out of options. Any and all advice would be appreciated. If you need pictures or more info dont hesitate to ask.