what to know when combining a new Head Unit, amp and speakers

Participant count
  • Participant list

@lexzaander

Brand new to this forum. So first thing first ... sup'

Introductions aside. Just purchased a new vehicle ( 2005 mercury grand marquis). I want to install:

a new head unit

new door speakers

2 or perhaps 4 tweeters

and an amplifier to push it all.

Not worrying about adding sub woofers (at least for now), I'm a seasoned musician and I'm looking for two things - loud and clear. What should i pay attention to so i make sure everything i pick up is compatible? What should i be expecting for a grand total? Famous combinations? Keep in mind its a large car. Thanks

Install. Rule #1 is making sure your equipment is properly installed. You can put a 700-dollar set of components in your car, but if you didn't pay attention to making sure the speakers were installed well and the doors properly deadened, they won't come out right. Especially with you being a musician, I know the attack of the drums, the rolling of the bassline, and the crunch/twang of the guitars are going to make a huge part of your decision. I'm a musician myself and have been extremely happy with my JBL MS comps with their faithful reproduction of live instruments, but if you can go higher with your budget, might suggest the Focal PS series comps.

I would recommend setting aside about 150 bucks for sound deadener on top of what you already have. The improvements it will make in your midbass response and reduction in road noise will be invaluable for you.

As for the amplifier? There's tons of amazing options out there. @trumpet ; has a great deal on the PPI P900.4 which is an active-capable amplifier with more than enough power for anything and is small enough for you to be able to fit under your seats if you prefer.

Hope that helps...

Go with a class D amp, 6 ch HU with 4 volt or higher RCA connectors, best brands Alpine, pioneer, kenwood, Jvc ( great value)