Retail or Online

Participant count
  • Participant list

2ndroundko
10+ year member

I am still pretty new to car audio and it's components, prices, and the quality of various brands. Yesterday I went to a local stereo shop and was told by the owner that buying online isn't as great as it sounds, saying that warranties are limited by9 available stock, or an out of stock item automatically being replaced by a item in stock of a similar price. When asked about Audioque products he said he had never heard of them in 24 years of business. So what I want to know from you guys is do you prefer to buy online or in a store with a 2 year warranty?

Audioque is an online company, so it would make sense that your dealer has never heard of them. However, that does not make them bad. There are bad online businesses and good ones. Just gotta find the right one.

A local dealer would be great though if you run into problems with your equipment since they're not far from you. And the same goes for local retailers, there are good ones and there are bad ones.

I prefer online retailers personally.

I do all of my own installs, and they ship to my door.

You will usually spend less online, then you will at a retail store. Online sellers do not have as much overhead as your standard shop.

The thing I will recommend though is buy from an "Authorized" online dealer.

That means if you want lets say....Sundown Audio or DC Audio subwoofers....you will find an online seller that is authorized by that company to sell their products. This will help with warranty issues.

Another idea is to find an online seller and a retail seller that have the same product you want. For example....lets use the same as above.

You want Sundown Audio or DC Audio subwoofers. Find a local retail shop that sells those products. Then buy them from an online seller.

If you ever have questions that needed answered, you could ask on the forums or you could drive down the the local shop and ask there.