Head Unit Installation gone wrong

STIorDIE
10+ year member

Hey guys, I'm a noob to car audio but i researched installing headunits and tried it out today and it just went wrong. So i got the wiring harness and crimped the wires together matching color. Then i disconnected the battery and removed my old stereo and mounted and plugged in the new stereo and reconnected the battery. Now my car alarm goes off when I unlock the door and the head unit doesn't power on at all. What did I do wrong and what should i do. I have a viper 5901 alarm btw.

did you match the wiring diagram from your factory unit to the wiring diagram from head unit harness or just matched color? On my car at least very few of wires were same color so I suggest you get a diagram for your car and confirm with the diagram that came with your hu.

i checked myself and made sure the wires on the factory diagram matched with the diagram on the headunit. Its weird because it let me in the first few times fine and then just started going off after i disarmed it and i have no way to stop it.

Did you just splice your new headunit into the factory wiring, or did you use a wiring harness from your local car audio shop?

Making assumptions:

I would unhook your newly installed headunit, go to your local car audio shop/retailer and buy a wire harness for your stereo. Then splice THOSE wires into the aftermarket stereo wiring harness. Then plug the harness you just bought into the factory one.

What kind of car? Is the factory alarm going off or the aftermarket. Factory....turn or turn and hold the key in the drivers lock. Without knowing the car I am going to assume the bypass module or doorlock module installed to make the alarm work properly lost programming. Many do this...it *****. Did you install the alarm yourself or have a shop do it?