Fried Voice Coil??

jaredmonk
10+ year member

helena
I was runnig a Rockford bd1000.1 @1 ohm to a Kicker L715".

Why did I fry the voice coil I thought this sub could handle this load.

Was my box to small. It was about 3 cubic feet and vented. Or did I run to much power to it.

Thanks

Jared

Your L7 should have handled the bd1000 with no trouble...

Where were the gains and crossover points set at?

The enclosure size is a little small for my liking, however, that still should have worked ok as well.

What about the port? Single port? Port size?

take it easy,

-zane

we had them set at half way. i had all of this done by a pro because i am new to the car stereo business.

the port was slotted on the side of the box it was 14x3.

it was a square port

the enclosure was built pretty much to the size and specs they sent with it.

i wish this didnt happen. the company wont take it back they said it was my fault that i blew it.

it sounded so sweet.. uhh this *****.

jared

i agree with zane, the L7 should of handled the bd1000 pretty easy. i think u r getting the shaft. u say it was professionaly installed and done according to specs? then i would say that if a vc is fried then the warranty should cover. sounds like poor workmanship on kicker's end to me!

Originally posted by jaredmonk we had them set at half way. i had all of this done by a pro because i am new to the car stereo business.

the port was slotted on the side of the box it was 14x3.

it was a square port

the enclosure was built pretty much to the size and specs they sent with it.

i wish this didnt happen. the company wont take it back they said it was my fault that i blew it.

it sounded so sweet.. uhh this *****.

jared
First of all if this was done by a pro installer and they or kicker will not stand behind thier product- this is one reason to cease all future business ventures with them and promptly file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. http://www.bbb.com