How much power off stock wiring?

uz1290
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
A question for the wise. How much power would you guys say I could run off stock wiring without having to do big 3 upgrades, 2nd battery, etc? I'm building a daily system in an Audi TT so nothing too big just something to replace stock crap. As of now I'm hoping to be able to run an amp for front stage and sub stage. Probably won't be more than 1500 watts total. Thanks in advance.

And what size/type is the OEM wiring, alt, and batt....??

1500WRMS sounds like ur expecting too much from normal OEM electrical, but maybe Audi is the shizz there

The wiring seems to be about 4 ga from what I can guess. As for alt and battery I'm not entirely sure. Just got the car so I'm still learning what I can from it ha. I guess I could install the system and see how it holds up and thereafter determine whether I would need to upgrade my electrical.

You can put a system in with more rms, but monitor your voltage and be easy on your volume knob, then later upgrade the electrical.

Most High End cars will have stock 4 or 2g battery / starter / ground wires... Alternators should avg. between 120-150amps

speaker wires will be around 12-14g sometimes 18g but norm. is 14g on High End cars.. Audi is pretty good about using bigger wires tho. Depending on the year and upgraded packages on the audio side.

I would still take the 30mins and do the Big 3 upgrade and get a bigger front battery.. I'm running 1200watts on full stock right now with major dimming but voltage doesn't drop below 12.9 in my 07 Impala. all wiring is 4G cept for 1 ground thats like a 12g wire.. but it already has 2 grounds one is a 4g the other is a box ground that is 12g...

Cool. Thanks for all the replies guys. I'll start with the big 3 at least for sure and will add in 2nd battery if necessary. I'll keep you all posted if I run into any problems