I Had an Epiphany

Participant count
  • Participant list

Grimmjoww

CarAudio.com Veteran
Ok so I got a new ride, 2008 C300. Its a cool car and I really dig it, the speaker locations already setup for components are cool and it has a decent head unit. I have been looking for a way to get some boom in the car without sacrificing the entire trunk. The back seat has a "pass through" where the center armrest is. The armrest bucket can be unfastened inside the trunk iirc. I have seen you guys talking about 4th orders and seen some pretty sweet designs drawn up here as well. I would like to try one 10" sub, my RFR3110 after I re cone it again lol. So look at this pass through, it has plenty of area, its 8' wide by 16"tall. That's plenty of space for area I would think on a 10" 4th order, but I am a noob to 4th orders so this may be a stupid question. here are a couple pics for reference, the whole center armrest removes via the bucket.
IMG_20220616_181840955.jpg
IMG_20220616_181847917.jpg

A 4th order is nice and they can get loud HOWEVER... they have a drawback. You won't be able to tell if your sub is in trouble very easily as the nature of the box is to pass only the tuned band (tuned frequencies) of the enclosure. This makes it hard to hear distortions. Bottom line, it's easy to blow subs if you aren't careful. Worth it if you get it tuned and powered right.

A 4th order is nice and they can get loud HOWEVER... they have a drawback. You won't be able to tell if your sub is in trouble very easily as the nature of the box is to pass only the tuned band (tuned frequencies) of the enclosure. This makes it hard to hear distortions. Bottom line, it's easy to blow subs if you aren't careful. Worth it if you get it tuned and powered right.
Right on man, I knew there had to be some drawbacks.

Would not be the first time this is done. It's actually rather common.