Box Designs for SQ Shiva?

SpeeDFX
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
Hey people, I'm going to be putting 2 shivas in my 94 accord, powered by a JBL BP1200.1 amp. I am really all about the sound quality, and I need to know what kind of boxes I should make. If making a ported box will make them sound louder, but decrease their sound Q just a hair, then I'll go with a sealed box because 2 shivas powered with this amp SHOULD be pretty loud already, right? Besides what KIND of boxes I need to make, I also need a good recommendation of the volume of the inside of the boxes that best suits SQ listening, but without flatenning out the bass ( a sealed box that is TOO big will kill teh bass, right?). I'm new to all the car audio technical jargon so sorry if I'm leaving out important information or anything like that.

Ok, thanks a lot man //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif. I also have another question, I was about to start building the box today and I realized that I have to wire the subs... How do people usually go about building the box with the wiring etc...?

I have a pair of shivas, they are in a 5.4 net common enclosure with 41 sq in of port 30" long, this yields a tuning of about 26 Hz. The sound quality is very good. The bass is very very transient and deep. However, it tends to peak a lot at 40-50Hz. So, don't go thinking that just because it's ported you will lose sound quality. The peak makes the bass sound very phat and nice and powerful and deep. Just thought I'd give alittle imput.

thats 5.4 square feet inside the box? I also dont understand what the difference in the sound will be if i use a ported box as opposed to a sealed one