Amp installation help

Participant count
  • Participant list

bob1122

Hey, I am new to CarAudio's forum's and thank you In advance for any help!

I recently installed some rear speakers in my 92 Tercel and have noticed they are missing allot of power that they had in my previous car. I happened to have a buddy with a small extra amp he didn't need so I grabbed his Rockford Fosgate Punch120a (60 x 2 watts rms) and I would like to install it but have no idea how to go about doing this. (I assume the lack of power is because all I did was connect the speakers and have no increase the power going to them.

The inputs on my amp are as follows:

Left Input (RCA)

Right input (RCA)

High level Input (Have no idea what the connector is but it have R+R- and L+L-)

REM (Just a single prong)

Then I have the output:

Left +

Left -

Right +

Right -

B +

GND

To start I assume I run a heavy guage wire from the pos terminal on my battery to the B + on the amp. I have no idea how to connect the input (Possibly solder rear right and left to RCA plugs respectivly? ), and where to run the ground wire. I also don't know what the REM is for and if its neccesary. There is also a Switch (120HP - full crossover- 80LP), Is there a specific setting I need to use?

I am still using the stock radio is this going to be a issue (I plan to upgrade when I can afford too!)

Thanks allot for any help !