2011 Dodge Ram Crew Cab Stereo Upgrade Suggestions

Participant count
  • Participant list
Hey Folks,

Brand newbie here. I am currently in the process of upgrading my factory Alpine stereo for my truck. Next purchase is front and rear door speakers. Shortly after that I want to upgrade the factory Sub. In order to save some money on the Sub I would like to keep the Sub at 8" and use the factory housing. With the intentions of just adding some sound Matt or something to stop it from Rattling too much .... if possible.

I will be keeping the factory head unit, and most likely abandoning, the existing speakers in the dash. The plan is to have the local car audio installers run new wire to the front, rear doors and sub. Giving me the option down the road just to hook up the factory stereo when I sell the truck. They will also mount all speakers using MDF brackets/spacers.

So far I have purchased a Audison Bit One Processor, and a Alpine PDX5 amp, both are not currently installed.

The plan is to run new Front and rear door speakers off the 4 channels from the alpine, leaving the 5th channel for the Sub. I hope just to replace the door speakers first, and then upgrade the Sub when money allows.

Just looking for suggestions for the front and back door speakers at this time. I have been looking at Boston Acoustics SR60 6.5 for both the front and back, as they seem to be reasonably priced.

The other option was buying Focal Poly Glass 130R for the front, and then something cheaper for the rear doors?

My thoughts for the sub down the road was a 8" Focal 21V2

Any thoughts?

Cheers

You don't sound like a newbie. I think you have a good plan. I'd go with the better speakers up front. I Lots of people will say to use a certain brand. I don't. Use what sounds best to you. You might want to get the sub before new rear speakers. Just turn the rear speakers down a bit.