Help needed badly with stereo install

Participant count
  • Participant list

JamesIbiza

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi
I'm having issues installing an aftermarket stereo into my car, and I would be hugely grateful if anyone can help me make sense of this. I'm a complete beginner, although I've been doing my best to research and learn all I can.
I have a 2006 seat ibiza fr 1.9tdi, type 6L.
I purchased a connects2 steering wheel interface (CTSST002.2) along with the pioneer MVH-X580BT stereo. My plan was to also install amp, sub and possibly new speakers after this.

I researched on the seat forums and this should have just been plug in and play, I definitely have the right connector apparently. Plugged it in and nothing, stereo dead. Checked the harness with my multimeter and there is 12v through the yellow wire (constant 12v) but 0v through the red wire (ignition live). Checked the factory harness and can't find a 12v ignition live on it (factory stereo stays on without key in ignition), there should be a 12v ignition live according to wiring diagrams online but there isn't. If I connect the red wire on the connects2 harness along with the yellow it works, but the radio won't turn off and will drain battery. I'm guessing my cars wiring is different because it's french, otherwise I don't know why it's not the same as everyone else's.