Joel114

Can I just use thhn electrical wire for an amp?

I work as an electrician and have enough 4 awg copper thhn stranded electrical wire to run from my battery to the amp I am going to install. Could I just use that instead of buying some EB Flex? Is there any downsides?

Yes, that will be fine. Only downside is that it won't be as flexible.

Refs = PapaGeno21, Goindef154, 92c1v1c, Disarmer, chemmins, 97maxima, kroid777, ithertz, basscort2009, hunterw, mar08052, appleyard, millimac247, jonny101abc, sundownz, cranberryyumyum, mig139, daboyfrumdabx, skateguy92, basebalz13.

Never any down sides about going with a bigger gauge wire. If anything, it has the potential for better performance. A well fed amp, is a good amp. I don't know if the 4 gauge you're going with is an upgrade from a smaller gauge, but if so, remember to give it the right fuse. The kind of gauge you use usually determines what size fuse you need. Good luck. 

Good job completely missing the question^^^^

2016 Focus ST3 - Rockford DSR1 / PPI 900.4 / Silverflute 6.5" mids / Massive CT2 tweeters /Sundown Xv2 15"/ Taramps DSP3k / Stinger Roadkill / KNU wiring / Northstar SMSAGM80 /

2010 Focus coupe 157@46hz

Pioneer 80prs /(8) FU Audio 750 12"s / (4) FSD 2600s / (1) FSD 125.4 / (1) FSD 85.4 / (4) Crescendo UN-10" mids / (4) Crescendo FT1 tweeters / Stinger Roadkill / 2/0 EB flex wire / (5) Powerware 90AH batteries / DC 270XP Alt /

https://www.youtube.com/popwarhomie

too many freq at once, burn the coil, we all know, over 40-50hz, its all coilburning material.

15 hours ago, Joel114 said:

I work as an electrician and have enough 4 awg copper thhn stranded electrical wire to run from my battery to the amp I am going to install. Could I just use that instead of buying some EB Flex? Is there any downsides?