Am I wasting my time? Low/flat freq response from a small enclosure

Participant count
  • Participants list

1995Tercel
10+ year member

SW Utah
Hello,

I listen to bass music, all  the way to country, classical, solo instruments, acapella... So I want clear (not loud) textured, effortless bass response, from 23hz up. I have seen graphs of flat bass response (curve is literally a horizontal line from tuning freq up to 150hz) but I don't know if I can achieve this in my space restrictions, nor were the box designs made public.

I am new to car audio, and Ive been reading a lot about theory, terminology, and basic anecdotes from people about their setups. What I am struggling to find is information about the practical application of the science of design and tuning a box, picking a specific sub, how to adjust for the volume and dimentions of vehicle cabin, location, and style of enclosure mounting...

I have a 2000 honda insight, there is no trunk. The enclosure must be completely hidden. There is a space underneath the parcel shelf, and behind the battery pack, the dimentions are...

Width- Left to right 21.5in
x
Height- top to bottom 10in
x
Depth- front to back  14in

There is a small amount of leeway to squeeze the enclosure in, say an inch all around, if i have to, and 5 more inches available top to bottom if I remove the spare tire.

Are there some complicated box designs, say with tube ports I can snake around and keep hidden, or special baffles, or compartments, that will produce the freq response I want in the space I have? I have not chosen any equipment yet. 

Im sorry if this is a bothersome question to answer, but I just dont know enough about the topic to know if I am wasting my time trying to learn, if what Im asking for is impossible.

Thank you.