Warning this question will probably sound extremely dumb.

So in short, if I have an OEM headunit and i use a line level converter to output to rca and then used a rca to aux 3.5mm adapter. Could I use that output for an aux input on another headunit? Thanks.

Edited by dmannman

I see no problem with this so long as you are not feeding a ton of voltage through the RCAs directly into the AUX of another headunit. Keep in mind they are designed for phones and stuff, not to be fed directly off an amp or another headunit, I'm not an expert, but I believe it could be a factor. The problem here is that you aren't changing anything about the signal. I assume you want an aftermarket headunit because your stock one has some kind of bass rolloff or weird EQ, or is lacking features like bluetooth? You would have more adjustability with an aftermarket unit, but it's not going to sound any better with this setup if the input signal is from the stock unit. If you already plan on having 2 headunits for some reason, why not just run the second one entirely separate?

Edited by Evankiller

It would help if you specify what your reason/end goal is for this setup. I'm sure there's a better way to do it. 

1 minute ago, Evankiller said: