How to measure if a OEM signal is full range? (trying REW and LOC)

Participant count
  • Participants list

smoka
10+ year member

Drink beer save water
Chicago
I have a 15 Durango with no amplifier. I'm trying to see if the tweeter signal is full range (tweeter has a cap on it). My big question is can I run my DSP straight from 2 channels off the OEM headunit or do I need to run all 6 speakers back to a JL FIX82 in order to get a good signal to my DSP?

This is my first time messing with REW. The results are strange. I'm using my laptop with a LOC converter hooked up to the signal right before the pass side tweeter.

Here is my laptop with the REW pink noise generating output looped to the mic input. (I'm assuming this would be the perfect full range signal I'm looking for?)
vFwypfB.jpg

Here is the signal hooked up to the LOC but the music is paused.
n3DWndq.jpg

Here is what it looks like with pink noise through the car headunit.
5J34PaX.jpg

Just for kicks here is rock music from the radio.
IQzbklG.jpg

My question. Is this signal full range? Is there any need to use a JL Audio Fix 82 to fix the signal before my DSP?

smoka said:
I have a 15 Durango with no amplifier. I'm trying to see if the tweeter signal is full range (tweeter has a cap on it). My big question is can I run my DSP straight from 2 channels off the OEM headunit or do I need to run all 6 speakers back to a JL FIX82 in order to get a good signal to my DSP?

This is my first time messing with REW. The results are strange. I'm using my laptop with a LOC converter hooked up to the signal right before the pass side tweeter.

Here is my laptop with the REW pink noise generating output looped to the mic input. (I'm assuming this would be the perfect full range signal I'm looking for?)
vFwypfB.jpg

Here is the signal hooked up to the LOC but the music is paused.
n3DWndq.jpg

Here is what it looks like with pink noise through the car headunit.
5J34PaX.jpg