Worth refinishing old school PG distro block?

Sleeklsc
5,000+ posts

CarAudio.com Veteran
I have an old Phoenix gold distro block that I used for a install 15 or so years ago. Over the years the finish started chipping (and then rusting), Is this piece worth refinishing? Everything is in good condition with the exception of the case and buildup up dust and such...

So is it worth putting in the time? I'd just end up selling it either way but figured I might get a little more if I clean it up a bit.

Looks like some sort of on off switch along with good and bad fuse indicators....but yea that circuit looks more complex than those 2 things...who knows I'm no circuit designer

btw, id be interested in buying.. pm me a price as is!
I haven't really thought of a price. Besides, all I have to compare it to is one or two similar units in original condition on ebay. It's a unique piece so I don't want to just give it away but do understand that it needs some makeup. Let me think about it.

why does a disto block need any kind of uh computer circuits??
Looks like some sort of on off switch along with good and bad fuse indicators....but yea that circuit looks more complex than those 2 things...who knows I'm no circuit designer
I honestly don't even know. Trey knows just about as much as I do about it. All I remember doing is wiring it up like a regular distro and

hooking up the other terminal to ground. It has been so long since I've used it. I might just go test it again if I have some agu's in the tool box. Meh, wire will do.

The switch is to turn it on/off, it'll work either way as a distro block. Turning it on activates the leds and the RJ input. Leds are agu fuse status (Red=Blown, Green=Good) and I have no idea what the RJ 11/45(?) does. Smaller terminal off to the side is for ground.

She's filthy, time to give her a gentle cleaning.

Last edited by a moderator: