PC Audio: External amp for DAC

Participant count
  • Participant list

Big Ry
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
Let me preface this post by saying I'm a novice to computer audio.

I was looking for a budget audio upgrade for the computer in my office. And by budget, I mean ideally sub $200 lol. So after doing a little research, I decided to purchase the Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi HD (SB1240) DAC/Amp and some low end but decently rated ear buds (FSL AL13). The biggest concern with a setup is that I do not have (and cannot get) permissions to install third party software or drivers on my machine. I decided on the SB1240, because from what I've read the drivers and software aren't needed if only using it for 3.5mm or RCA out...and it supposedly has great DACs for the $$$.

I got the equipment setup, but the output on the new ear buds is screwy. Certain mid-high frequencies are very quiet (mostly the vocal part for some reason), and there's a very pronounced 'hallway' effect. I tried two other sets of headphones, and they worked properly. I tried a co-worker's Audioengine D1 with my ear buds and they work fine on it (they also work fine on my machines internal card). And lastly I tried the SB1240 & ear buds on my personal laptop with all Creative software and drivers installed...no dice, same issue. Despite the fact that the SB1240 is spec'd to handle drivers "up to 330 Ohm", I'm thinking that perhaps my 16 Ohm ear buds are too low resistance.