Will the hobby of car audio ever die?

ladysmanfelpz
10+ year member

Phoenix
It's been discussed before, but what do you guys think will happen to car audio with emerging technology?

Now I am a pretty conservative dude and I love technology and every knew bit of science we discover, but sometimes technology can hurt us as people. It makes us lazy and we rely on a machine to do one more task for us. We stop thinking and recognizing landmarks and instead let our GPS direct us to our intended target. I know people have discussed how car audio took a big dip in enthusiasts because of manufacturers making it too difficult to put in aftermarket equipment, but do you think with emerging technology and cheaper manufacturing of quality parts that aftermarket equipment may be deemed irrelevant or at least very detrimental to the resale of a quality car?

I am fairly new to car audio, as I only had one car to work on through high school and now just picked up a new ride in my last year of college that I have big plans for. I love all the work that goes into it. Like any educated person in the topic I now know its not just teens throwing subs in their trunk and annoying the neighborhood block like how many people portray car audio. A great deal of work goes in to the build for maximum quality, sound, and aesthetics. Its fun cuz like any hobby you can do a cheap build and try to get the most for your dollar, or go all out and get maximum quality. Not only is it high quality components, but location of speakers and correct wiring and sound dampening of the vehicle all play a part.