New daily box for some Boston G5's

THATpurpleKUSH
5,000+ posts

Fuckyou
I'm starting to build the new box for my G5s. It will be for a daily driver, but it will see competition time too. I got the design from a shop close to my parents house, the guy who did the design says he holds the record in meca street 5 at 160.9 and there is a special piece inside that should help with the airflow but its a secret. Here's my old box:

25270874003_medium.jpg

I have no clue how to use sketchup or any sort of cad program, so I do all my designing by hand. This is what the box will look like lol:

20120423203434.jpg

4cu/ft tuned around 31.5hz, with a 6inch pvc port that will be removeable and I will have 2 other port tunes to swap in as well.

Here is the wood laid out so far

20120423191206.jpg

Also this is my first build involving 45 pieces in the corners, wow they are a pita to cut, but not as hard as I thought.

An interesting note- according to winisd, my old box had a vent mach of .05 with 2 4inch ports (3.9@33hz) and the new box has a vent mach of .10 (4@31.5hz), the 6inch port even has slightly more surface area, whats up with that?

No $ involved. The design isnt official and is just something scribbled down on a piece of paper. I picked his brain about spl for over an hour one day and I think he was getting sick of me so he sent me off with a box design and was like "just shut up and go make this" lol. There was a guy at a comp in the fall that had some special piece in his box too and wouldnt let me inspect it or try and peer in the port. He said I had to buy the box for $100 if I wanted to find out- I think I know what he did now. It's really simple and I'm surprised none of the box designers on here utilize it.

I made a stand to meter at the headrest, it will be making a trip to my "high tech spray booth" this week. By high tech I mean my screened in patio and rattle cans. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/laugh.gif.48439b2acf2cfca21620f01e7f77d1e4.gif