Sign in to follow this  
dross93ranger

Ported Sub Box Assistance

I have a prefab ported Best Buy box...it is loud, but really does not move air at all. I was going to build my own box, but found a local guy on ebay who makes boxes. Will his box make a noticeable difference in sound?

Also I am running an SAX-1200D amp and 2 12" SWR-1243D subs and this is a daily system. What should I get him to cut the tubes to? And what would that tune the box to? I am new to box building and that confuses me.

I do not want to build my own box, been there, done that and it turned out fine (sealed box), but I want to buy one so please don't suggest that.

Here is my current box:

Fierce Audio XED 12" inch in Dual 2 Ported Subwoofer Enclosure PS212.1 Black | eBay

And the one I can buy local:

Ported / Vented (Flush Mount) Sub Box Enclosure for 2 Alpine Type R 12s | eBay

Running small stereos so I can haul a stroller. :laugh:

2004 Ford Focus SVT - Kenwood DDX370, JL Audio C2-525 Components, Sundown E8v1, NVX MVPA1 Mono Amp, Power Acoustik RZ2-1300D 2-Channel, Pac SWI-RC Steering Wheel Adapter

1993 Ford Ranger (System still in progress) - Kenwood KDC-452U, E8v1 in Custom Ported Box, amplifiers and speakers still in question.

Pretty sure Pro-Rabbit (DC Creations) is going to have a cyber monday sale tomorrow. You could probably get a much nicer box for about the same price.

I use gain as a volume control.

Thanks I will check into that, the box I linked looked to be built very well, but I'm guessing it isn't great? It is about the perfect dimensions for my van.

2004 Ford Focus SVT - Kenwood DDX370, JL Audio C2-525 Components, Sundown E8v1, NVX MVPA1 Mono Amp, Power Acoustik RZ2-1300D 2-Channel, Pac SWI-RC Steering Wheel Adapter

1993 Ford Ranger (System still in progress) - Kenwood KDC-452U, E8v1 in Custom Ported Box, amplifiers and speakers still in question.