General Confusion

drtone

When I got my new car, a 2011 Hyundai Sonata, I reversed my previous habit of buying new cars with the "premium" sound system. This time, I got the basic system, with the plan of upgrading the audio myself, saving money in the long run and maybe getting more of what I want. I am no expert on home audio, but have put together a number of systems in my life, and I pretty much know what I'm looking for and how to hook everything up. Car audio is a completely different animal. The brands are, by and large, different. The equipment is different, too, although it all performs the same function.

Despite my deficit in expertise, I moved ahead. My plan was to build the car system in stages, first with a better set of speakers in the front doors (MBQuart PVI216, 6-1/2", from Amazon) and an amplifier for those speakers; later, perhaps much later, I would add a subwoofer, as well as more speakers on the rear deck and in the rear doors. As is usual for me, I shopped and shopped for the right speakers and the right amp, knowing that I did not have enough information. I tried talking with a couple of installers, to pick their brains, but of course they were uncooperative, not wanting to undercut themselves. Based on home audio, for which one obtains the biggest, baddest amp one can, I bought the most powerful 2-channel amp I could get within a pretty tight budget (a Hifonics ZXI200.2, from Amazon), but spending more than if I had bought a 4-channel amp. More is better, and I was only powering two speakers. From my home audio experience, it did not occur to me that my 200 wpc amp would be too strong for my 140-watt speakers.