Amps & Bass: Riddle Me This

Numonet86
10+ year member

This may be a very dumb question, but I'm new to car audio...and I'm very curious whether or not the bass from a sub might mess up your amp? I've seen a lot of setups where people park their amp(s) in a trunk right next to the subs and I can't help but wonder if all that affects it? Of course, I guess it's no more rattle than driving, and technically I believe the soundwaves produced from a sub are the same throughout most cars so it wouldn't matter if it was near or far...can anyone answer me this question?

In theory it could damage a crappy amp, but most people put the amp right on the box or in front of it with huge setups, i always leave mine in front of the sub and never had any problems.

my old mtx btp 75x2 was mounted on a box with a single 10" thunder 5500 , but i was running it daily at 2 ohms bridged and it used to get hella hot. one day i noticed my lights dimming pretty bad and i found that both of the big power caps inside the amp had broke off the board , so yes vibrations can hurt the amp.

So is there any specific place to put your amp or a setup for it that'll protect it a little more? What about heat, is there a way to reduce this (higher quality amp, better placement, etc.)?

So is there any specific place to put your amp or a setup for it that'll protect it a little more? What about heat, is there a way to reduce this (higher quality amp, better placement, etc.)?
if youre worried that your amp might be damaged, cut out a piece of wood matching the size of the amp and place it somewhere in your trunk to keep it somewhat safe from rattling. might add some looks too //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif