Basic Guide to Shop Safety

CadillacMatt
10+ year member

Disturbing the Peace
//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/fyi.gif.9f1f679348da7204ce960cfc74bca8e0.gifBasic Guide To Shop Safety//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/fyi.gif.9f1f679348da7204ce960cfc74bca8e0.gif​

Hey all, thanks for taking the time to read this guide. No, this is not a tell all, end all, close-the-book-and-be-done-with-it shop safety guide, but I'm writing it mainly for the new DIY box builders (in particular those who have little to no experience with many of the common power tools you would find in a wood shop). Many accidents can be avoided by practicing basic safety in and around the shop.

A little about myself - I'm a lay-up/trim technician at a composites company here in S.A. Texas. We manufacture fiberglass/carbon parts for private business/pleasure jets, such as showers, headliners, sidewalls, light escutcheons, just to name a few. We provide custom tooling services as well. I've been here for two years and have learned and seen quite a bit that provokes me to write this.

Let's get to business:

Some Steadfast Rules of Shop Safety

1. The Most Important Tool Is - Right between your ears. Use it each and every time you step into the shop. Common sense can prevent many mishaps commonly associated with shop work. If it seems wrong, it probably is. If you're unsure about it, err on the side of judgement and don't do it.

2. Respect the equipment - No, you don't have to refer to them as Sir/Maam, I mean show respect in regards to the power of the equipment you're using. These tools are designed to make basic shop functions such as cutting, griding, sanding, etc. much easier for the operator but on the same coin it comes with a larger risk for causing injury if misused. At the risk of sounding corny I quote "With great power comes great responsibility"... think about it.