tuning my amp (Alpine BBX-F1200)

chandlerr

CarAudio.com Newbie
Alpine BBX-F1200 4ch
Alpine SPR-60C component
Alpine SBG-1244BR subwoofer
Pioneer DEH S4150BT HU

installed on a Honda HR-V 2002,
Im new to the field, would like your help in tuning my amplifer to get the best out of my setup.. (concerning gain, freq, crossovers - highpass lowpass slopes ; etc etc)

didn't want to play around with it myself because Im too afraid to cause any damage to my equipment.

**btw, I wanted to check the max volume on the HU and turned it all the way up (while no music was playing, upped it to 62) but then I saw that guides recommend unplugging the RCAs before you do that, will it anyhow damage my component or something? I did it just for 1 second, again, no music was playing..

so what do I set my amp to in every one of these sections?

gain setting info..

heres the test tones..

80hz is a good starting point for xovers for mids and sub. kinda depends on how loud you listen to your stereo and how hard hitting the music is. if the mids are getting too stressed, might raise to 90 or 100hz or so

gotta experiment

if you cranked your stereo for a sec with no music, its probably fine. removing rcas just grantees no damage

crossover slopes are how quickly the crossover cuts out the frequencies above or below the crossover point

a lot of decks have 6, 12, 18 or 24 db slopes. i like using higher slopes for faster rolloffs. lets me run a higher or lower crossover point (depending on if im low passing or high passing) and still protect my gear

Last edited:
How do I know the value I should set my gain to, when using the volt meter.. theres a formula but I dont quite understand how to put the numbers in..
Most of the vids get like 22 or something..
How dk I calculate the right one for my bbx f1200

volts = square root of watts multiplied by impedance

so if the watts is 100 and the impedance is 4, volts = 20

this is what i meant, but probably said it wrong :)