Indecisive; Choosing the right equipment....

Participant count
  • Participant list

cam01910

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hello, Caraudio members,
I am in the midst of creating an audio system for my 2014 VW Jetta. As of now, I have a Pioneer AVH-501EX as my head unit and I am looking to purchase a Polk Audio D4000.4 to power my door speakers. It seems that people are saying a lot of great things about Focal's component speakers, so I'm trying to determine which model to buy. Currently, I am willing to spend money on the 165AS (which looks to be the suckiest), the flax 165FX (which appears to be the intermediate), or the ES 165K2 (the cool yellow ones costing near a thousand per pair).
In my previous vehicle, I completely disregarded the amazing world of 4-channel amps and, instead, purchased the loudest 15" sub that my alternator could handle. Now that my current vehicle is nicer, I want to do things the right way. I have no experience whatsoever with fancy door speakers, so can someone recommend or tell me (with proper installation and soundproofing) if there is a crystalline clear difference between the Focal 165FX and the Focal 165K2? I recognize that my Pioneer head unit is considered by many of you fine, experienced audio-men to be an entry-level unit, and I am also curious as to if this would lead to bad performance by my future Focal speakers.
I obviously plan on installing these component speakers into the front channels of the PA D4000.4 amp, but what about the back? For each of my rear channels (which can each support 200W RMS @ 2 ohms) , I am thinking about picking up a Sundown Audio 6.5" sub (each of these little speakers can support 200W RMS @ 2 ohms). The price for each of these speakers is $100, so I would be spending $200 on speakers to make full use (all 400 watts) of my rear channels as a single bass output.
Instead of placing these subs directly into my doors, I will probably end up placing them in an enclosure somewhere in the back.