How many channels do I need on my amp.

Participant count
  • Participant list

justice
10+ year member

I am new to this but you guys have been alot of help. I read on CarStereo.com that having your speakers running from your amp helps to improve sound quality. I am getting an amp. I have 2 10"400 watt woffers that I will be hooking up to it. If I get an 800 watt 2 channel amp does that mean I hook each woffer up to each channel leaving me no more channels for my speakers? Do I need to get a 4 cannel amp for the 2 front speakers and the 2 woofer? And if I decide to have 2 rear speakers for a total of four speakers and 2 woofers does that mean I need a 6 channel amp?

If I need more channels can I just use a 2nd amp? if so does that mean my head unit needs more than 1 RCA conector? Or can the amps conect to each other or what?

Also what does bridgeing the channels do?

Ok, let's see....

First of all, always go by the RMS rating of everything. If your subs are 400w RMS, then yes, go with an 800w RMS amp. If you get a two channel amp, depending on it's capabilities, you can either hook the 2 subs to their own channel, you can run them off of a single channel, or you can bridge the amp and run both that way. Bridging is simply hooking the two channels of an amp together. When this is do it turns the amp from being 2 channel stereo to 1 channel mono. Lets say you go with a 200w 2 channel amp (100w per channel). If you run a sub off each channel, you will gett 100w to each. When it is bridged you get a single channel that put out 200w.