Decent head unit that runs Android?

Participant count
  • Participant list

Dark Winter

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi, everybody.

I'm looking for some suggestions for a double-din head unit that runs Android on the head unit itself, such that I can load apps that I write onto it (I'm a programmer - Mac, mostly, but good luck getting OS X running on a head unit!).

The car it's going into is a 2015 Scion tC that I'm using as my daily driver. It's not used for competitions or anything like that; just driving around town.

FWIW, I listen to everything from symphonic metal to electronic, with a bit of filmic classical (for example; Audiomachine, Two Steps From Hell) thrown in for good measure. Also, spoken-word podcasts; but any system that can accommodate music should be able to handle that without issue. I don't listen to hip-hop, rap, or country (nothing personal against it -- it's just not my thing).

It doesn't need to be running the very latest version of Android - version 10 will do; and as the only time it will ever have internet access is while I'm loading a set of offline maps for my local area, it doesn't need to have continued security patches. No browser will be installed on the head unit. I also don't need a tremendous amount of CPU/GPU power, as I'm not looking to play games on it; but it should have enough to run an EQ app, Google Maps, and generally keep up with the UI without excessive glitching or crashing. No CD/DVD drive is desired.

I haven't tried to tune in an AM/FM station in... uh... geez, I guess it's been two and a half decades now. I got my first car CD player in the late 90s, and never looked (er, listened?) back... so I don't really even care if it has a tuner.

Features I do need:

* Decent hardware build quality and OK sound quality from the pre-amp output ports. I don't intend to use any built-in amplifiers that the head unit may have (and it's entirely OK for it to not have any at all).