Amp Class Question

I am not an expert so dont hold me to this but I read alot of these post and have done research for quite some time. I think it is the ability to use different wire configurations so you can get down to a lower ohm so basically it is what ohm stable the amp is plus it has something to do with the circuitry inside the amp D as far as I no is the best and some companies run different styles it is all in what you need hopefully zane can help you out some he knows what he is talking about.

There isn't really a "best" class of amp it just depends on what you are doing with that amp. I can't remember all of the technical terms but basically Class D amps are better at producing a lot of power efficiently but its a "dirtier' power (not meaning bad, they can produce a bit more noise but they are good for subs because of their high power capabilities. Class A amps are very inefficient but output very "clean" power. And Class B's more efficient than A but less that D. Most decent amps today are either D or an AB class (putting the clean A power with the extra efficiency of B). It's all a little confusing, just go with a quality brand...Phoenix Gold, Soundstream, JL, PPI, etc. and you will be fine.

Originally posted by CheapPyramidStuff What do the different classes of amps mean? And what are the advantages/disadvantages of each kind? Thanks alot.
go **** yourself you dirty **** rag

Hope you like to read,

I found a very informative post on this subject from another forum. To the best of my knowledge, a/b, d, and a few class t's, are the only ones being widely used currently.

Audio power amplifiers are classified primarily by the design of the output stage. Classification is based on the amount of time the output devices are made to operate during each cycle of swing. Amplifiers are also defined in terms of output bias current (the amount of current flowing in the output devices with no signal present).