6th order

Participant count
  • Participant list

20 hz bass machine
Premium Member

Danger Ranger
I want to build a 6th order enclosure for my 12" ZV5 D2. I have a tester from Dayton audio to get T/S parameters and Bass box pro to build an enclosure but not only do I have little to no experience designing enclosures, I have never even attempted to model a 6th order. If I open up bass box and go to 6th order I have no idea what I'm looking at. I know the concept behind 4th, 6th, and 8th order enclosures but I don't know the math that goes with it. I even tried to find a book that went over the math behind it but never found anything. I have bought enclosure designs from Mark from Car audio fabrication and I was going to get one from him for a 6th order but I would love to model an enclosure myself. Long story short I would love for this thread to be a go to guide for the math behind 4th and 6th order enclosures. If one of you wants to help me design a 6th for my sub that's cool to but just learning the math involved would be awesome too. Thanks in advance.

6th?.. or 4th?.. find the EBP and see what'll work 1st. Once you do that I think your install, available space and ratio would be a good place to start.

6Bgceq.jpg

I use Winisd and it made NO sense at 1st... with time it became usable and It seems I'm onto something.

Just don't discount/forget cabin gain with any car install... it'll be your friend/enemy depending on your goals.

My .02 from the cheap seats

A 4th friendly sub will have an Ebp that's mid range-low... understand that a 4th will have a sealed type extension and ratio will affect your results.
A mid-hi Ebp sub will shine in a 6th... ratio can determine the balance in either... (watch velocities, excursion and response... so don't fall asleep at the mouse).