Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Question about Ground Distribution Block

JKuhnz is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Question about Ground Distribution Block

Hey guys, I'm still learning about more advanced audio systems so if this is a stupid question please bare with me.

I am upgrading the subwoofer amp in my car to a much more powerful amplifier and I was curious about what wiring I should use. I went to talk to my local audio shop and they gave me 2 feet of 4 gauge ground wire, 2 feet of 4 gauge power wire, and a ground distribution block. This block has 2 1/0 AWG in and 6 4 AWG out.

The install company told me I should replace this with my old distribution block. They want me to run my 4 AWG power wire from the battery to the 1/0 AWG input, then run 4AWG output to one amp and 8 AWG the the other. I would assume I'd use the 4 AWG ground cable they provided and attach it to the other 1/0 AWG input?

I read up on ground distribution blocks and from what I've read it didnt seem like they were used to deal with power wire. I want to make sure I didn't hear the company wrong and I won't end up blowing my system in some way

audiobaun is offline Premium Member audiobaun is a Supporting Member of the forum!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)

Re: Question about Ground Distribution Block

Too Vague of a question, when little is given of what amp/amps running/using,to even consider any type of assessment.Stock electrical?stock battery?size of supply wiring from the battery,to the amps distro block?Assuming its 4ga,or 8ga since wanting you to run 4?

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)