Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Need some installation help

Huntsman is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Need some installation help

Hey guys I got a 98 cherokee I bought some polk audio db651 got them all around 4 speakers.

Im looking to amp them and I also got a hifonics atlas subwoofer 900rms 1800max 4ohm dual voice coil I want to put that baby in as well. But since this is my first time doing this stuff I am learning as I go, I put the polk speakers in to see how they play and sound and it sounds alot better than what I had before but now I want to amp them.

Also I have a aftermarket head unit it was already installed when I bought the car. the head unit is a jvc kd-g140 I would post a link but it does not allow me.

I was thinking of using 2 amps one 4 channel amp for the speakers and one monoblock amp for the sub but the specs for the head unit show preamp outputs 2 channel so Im guessing I can only hook up one amp ?

mlstrass is offline Shaggy DOA

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)

Re: Need some installation help

Your HU only has 1 set of preouts, but "assuming" when setting the RCA's to REAR that they pass a full signal then you could split that to each amp. HPF on the comps amp and LPF on the sub amp.

Why hifonics sub?? Much better out there...

keep_hope_alive is offline Acoustics Engineer keep_hope_alive is a Supporting Member of the forum!

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    159 Post(s)

look for a 4 channel amp that has two key features:

1. a switch to let all four channels work from a two channel input.
    2. RCA pre-outs that can be sent to the sub amp

these are common features, but not all amps have them. ensuring you have these features will simply your installation. you will just run one RCA pair to the 4 channel amp then another pair from the 4 channel amp to the sub amp.