Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Bridging a 4 channel amp

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Bridging a 4 channel amp

K so im pretty new to car audio but im really trying to learn. I had my sup and amp done professionally, then I threw in a new sub myself as well as capacitor, did the big 3 with 0 ga this weekend, and my buddy and I did a 4 channel amp a while back. So thing is the car was already wired up for a 4 channel amp. I didn't quite know what was going on, but when wiring it, we only had 4 speaker wires. My friend said it was no big deal and that we could bridge it and it would actually be better (less ohms more power i guess). But as im understanding more about car audio, im really wondering wtf we did. So on my mtx400.4 the bridge is for front + to - and rear + to - (sorry can't remember sides at the moment. I'll have to take a look tomorrow.) Since it is for my speakers we wanted it to play left and right, so it looks like he tried to do a bridge between left and right. He wired it all on the rear speakers, and I do get left and right speaker play which is nice. Thing is looks like amps aren't gonna put any more power out by doing this. I still have the switch on 4 channel, and when I switch it to 2 it still plays but just at very little volume (guessing its the positive or negative for a set of speakers thats playing).

Question is, is can I fix this ***** and get it bridged and still play left and right? Will it require me taking out the head unit and/or switching rca's?

And sorry if there have been questions like this. I am a newb but ive been searching the audio reference stickies to learn up and all they talk about is sub box size and design and stupid ****. Nothing about 4 channels. Im gonna take a look at it tomorrow and see if I can figure it out and repost with what I learn.

Thanks everyone.

UnderFire is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    38 Post(s)

Re: Bridging a 4 channel amp