Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Do I need to upgrade my alternator/battery?

Frambled is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

Do I need to upgrade my alternator/battery?

Here is the situation. I'm going to install a rockford 10" p3 with an alpine m500 amp into a stock 2009 Jetta.

My Grandpa and Uncle are both very good with cars (but not so much car audio) and seem to think that the alternator and the battery won't be able to handle the system.

I'm new to car audio but I feel like people have pushed their stock electric systems a lot harder than I plan on doing; but I'd like to see some confirmations here (for my relatives sake) Can anyone back me up?

Fiendstolemyamp is offline Call of the Wintermoon

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)

Re: Do I need to upgrade my alternator/battery?

Should be fine. It's not like that's some huge current hog you're installing, just a 500 watt class d amp.

I use gain as a volume control.

Isaac is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

You should be fine

Frambled is offline Junior Member

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

Thanks I didn't see a problem. I figured the guys running 3 12" Walmart subs probably don't bother with other upgrades.

and sorry for this thread that has probably been made 100 other times. I just needed my own to send off to my relatives.

Sleeklsc is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)

Your stock alt is a 140a so you should be good to go.

Ref's:1. Midwestcustoms 1.5. Desertheat 2. Mjbailey 3. Terryracing86 4. Sickmint79 5. Untouchable11 6. mattj 7. Ssweet96 8. Kool9accord 9.Kristinspapi10. Kmhogan224 11. Alpine3612 -x3- 12. Vectork39 13. Livinlife 14.Chriscivic 15. Violentraptor 16. Ricky616 17. Bassaddictj 18.orioles26 19.Khail19 20. jak3th3snak311 21. Myjaja 22. Springy101 x2 23. Ali1 24. Privatepastry 25. Plus about 10+ more..

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned