Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Help with multimeter readings...

Rkrajnov is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Help with multimeter readings...

Ok so I just received my sub back from repairs a few days ago and put it back in. I wanted to be careful not to blow it again so I set everything with a MM using ohm's law. I got the appropriate voltages (34.6 volts for my Audioque 1200d sending 1200 rms at 1 ohm to my 12" Fi Q and 24.6 volts for my JL 300/4 sending 150 rms at 4 ohms bridged to my Hertz HSK 165s... I believe these values are correct).

Anyways, my logic was that I could probably play some music today and see what voltages the amps were hitting under a lot of pressure. So first I put on a few heavy bass songs and my sub amp was hitting max around 32 or so volts, so I figured this is good, maybe even a little breather room (though I'm no expert with this but I tested the old settings I had the sub at and they were hitting in at like 60 volts so I figure I should be pretty safe where I'm at). Then I tried testing the speaker amp, but for some reason I couldn't get it to produce more than 4 volts or so even though the speakers were blasting. Is this just because of the fact that the tracks are playing all kinds of different frequencies or what (as compared to the test CD I used to set them)? Also does my sub have some breather room and possibly even room to turn it up a tiny bit with the headunit? I only bring this up because I was giving it WAY more power before and it still lasted a good 8 months and I heard that Fi Q subs can handle up to about 1500 rms, but I'm sure my logic is flawed somewhere in wanting to increase the output of it even more, even if I do it via the headunit. I'm far from a car audio expert, I'm just trying to get a grasp on everything and still learn more things every day. Any help is appreciated.

sacsking916 is offline stayin high an loud

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)