Closed Thread

Reload Thread: wiring 4 front speakers

paulie74 is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

wiring 4 front speakers

Hi all! Could be a silly question, but, Is it ok to wire in an extra pair of front speakers, putting the speaker cable into the head unit that is already powering my 2 dash speakers? So i have 4 speakers at the front and 2 at the back. Will I loose the good sound or wattage?

>>SQL<< is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

Re: wiring 4 front speakers

No it is not ok
    You will lower the ohm load to 2 ohms on the head unit which will most likely cause it to fail quickly.
    You need a 2 ohm stable amp in order to run 2 sets of speakers in the front

3. Thanks paulie74 thanked for this post

Threadstarter

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Thank you. I have limited knowledge! A 2 ohm stable amp?!

keep_hope_alive is online now Acoustics Engineer keep_hope_alive is a Supporting Member of the forum!

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    159 Post(s)

actually, the question is dependent on what speakers you are talking about. if you want a woofer in teh door and a mid/tweeter in the dash, then yes, you can do this if you provide a passive crossover. at a minimum, you'll have a high pass crossover on the dash mid/tweet. a low pass crossover is desired for the door woofer to prevent phase interference. in general, you don't want speakers to have overlapping response. choosing crossover points and slopes is important, as well as taking the resulting phase shift into consideration. a 12dB/oct and 18dB/oct crossover will have a 180deg phase shift around the crossover frequency. it's usually best to use the same slope for the low and high pass crossover points. if not, you may need to adjust polarity to keep things in phase.

so before anyone can answer your question, we need to know what speakers you are installing. make/model.