Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Troubles with AVH-P4000DVD

MisterAutomatic is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Troubles with AVH-P4000DVD

Hello everyone. Outside of introducing myself, this is my first post. I have no prior experience installing car audio, but this is something that I definitely want to know for myself. I build computers for a living under my own business, but I don't know much about electrical. As for my situation...

I have a 2004 Chevy Malibu Classic, and I'm installing a Pioneer AVH-P4000DVD. Due to the issue of not finding a wire harness adapter that works on my car I had to find the diagram to the stock harness and wire everything directly. I installed a Kewood radio about a month ago, so I figured that this wouldn't be any more difficult. I lied. I was able to get my unit powered on, but I wasn't getting any sound. I let the tech at my job check the wires, but what we came to find was that my issue has something to do with a ground wire not being connected, because we were testing the audio from a usb drive, and this is a known issue for that unit. Once we switched the src to the radio I had sound....for maybe 10 minutes. On the way home the sound shut completely off but the unit was still on. Long story short I have popped about 5 fuses now and I'm looking for the best solution to wiring this unit. If anyone can point me to a harness adapter for my model (that really works) or a more intricate wiring diagram for the stock harness I would greatly appreciate it. All advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

DonH is offline .....

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    36 Post(s)

Re: Troubles with AVH-P4000DVD

4 speaker system or 6 speaker system?

Quote Originally Posted by chillin View Post
    How do you bridge a mono?
    Quote Originally Posted by snoopdan View Post
    throw it off one.
    feedback thread: