Reload Thread: Amp specific question (3 amps in 1?) Kicker KX700.5

wakeboarder3780 is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Icon32 Amp specific question (3 amps in 1?) Kicker KX700.5

Amp Manual for reference:
    http://www.kicker.com/sites/default/...00_5Manual.pdf

Hey, I'm a novice at hooking up systems, I know my way around, but do have a specific question regarding an amp I just encountered (this amp is a little crazy). My understanding is that it powers a sub (1 channel), and additionally has 2 other different configurable amps to run 4 total channels (2 each). That's 3 total amps for a whopping total of 5 channels. So basically there is an internal amp for the sub, an internal amp for 2 channels of the 4 speaker chanels available and another amp for the other 2 speaker channels.

In a rudimentary sense, its 3 amps duct taped together.

My specific question revolves around if I can really use this amp to equally power 6 speakers each at 4 ohm impedance (this is a boat system). The answer to this question specifically revolves around whether or not there literally are "2 separate amps" inside.

In the manual I can only find the following information regarding power at different ohm loads:

Code:
    RMS Power
    In Watts, All Channels Driven
    @ 13.8V, 4Ω Stereo, 0.085% THD          40 x 4
    @ 13.8V, 2Ω Stereo, 0.2% THD             75 x 4
    @ 13.8V, 4Ω Mono, 0.4% THD               150 x 2

SUB Power
    In Watts, All Channels Driven
    @ 13.8V, 2Ω Mono, 1.5% THD               400 x 1
    You'll find however that there are ways to set gain for each individual logical amp (within this one physical amp).

My hypothesis was that I could create the following configuration:
    Given:
    We have speakers lets call them 1,2,3,4,5, and 6 all with a 4 ohm load.
    We have 2 logical amps to power these 6 speakers.

Proposed Solution:
    Amp1:
    ChannelA:Speaker 1 and 2 wired in parallel (2 ohm load)