+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 63 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 53 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 945

Reload Thread: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

  1. #31
    thai_creeper's Avatar
    thai_creeper is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, ca
    Posts
    953
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    x2, i was wondering about that too, I think I see them without the fuse too, couldn't you just stack up the wire terminals and put the bolt over them?





    References: flakko(bought from), psyrex(sold to)




  2. #32
    johnecon2001's Avatar
    johnecon2001 is offline SSA/ROE Super-Møderator

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,137
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    If you wanted to be super-ghetto-fabulous you could.

    You don't have to buy one with built in fuses. It just makes everything neater under the hood. You do need an aftermarket terminal though to fit the new wires you just added.




    Don't PM me, I'm not here. Find me on SSA or ROE
    No, I won't re-upload the Big3 pictures. Don't ask.

  3. #33
    thai_creeper's Avatar
    thai_creeper is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, ca
    Posts
    953
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by johnecon2001
    If you wanted to be super-ghetto-fabulous you could.

    You don't have to buy one with built in fuses. It just makes everything neater under the hood. You do need an aftermarket terminal though to fit the new wires you just added.
    Wait so you're saying I DO need the after market battery terminal but I just don't need the fuse? If I have the fuse does that mean I don't need an inline fuse on the power wire? What happens if no battery terminal? And using a battery terminal doesn't that mean there's no use for the ring terminals?
    Last edited by thai_creeper; 06-01-2006 at 07:01 PM.





    References: flakko(bought from), psyrex(sold to)

  4. #34
    johnecon2001's Avatar
    johnecon2001 is offline SSA/ROE Super-Møderator

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,137
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by thai_creeper
    Wait so you're saying I DO need the after market battery terminal but I just don't need the fuse? If I have the fuse does that mean I don't need an inline fuse on the power wire? What happens if no battery terminal? And using a battery terminal doesn't that mean there's no use for the ring terminals?

    again, depends on the type of terminal you get. You stock one probably isn't going to get the job done is what I was saying. You still need a fuse on your main power line to the amps and the alternator positive to battery positive. You just don't need it built into the terminal.




    Don't PM me, I'm not here. Find me on SSA or ROE
    No, I won't re-upload the Big3 pictures. Don't ask.

  5. #35
    thai_creeper's Avatar
    thai_creeper is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    bay area, ca
    Posts
    953
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by johnecon2001
    again, depends on the type of terminal you get. You stock one probably isn't going to get the job done is what I was saying. You still need a fuse on your main power line to the amps and the alternator positive to battery positive. You just don't need it built into the terminal.
    Ohh okay, I'll probably just pick up a pair of battery terminals too..in which case I won't need those power wire terminals because I stick the power wire straight into the battery terminal right? Also, so if you get a fuse on the terminal does that take care (so you won't need) an inline fuse near the battery on the power wire running to the amps?





    References: flakko(bought from), psyrex(sold to)

  6. #36
    bigrobrn's Avatar
    bigrobrn is offline Senior VIP Member



    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    where is the best place to get an external fuse holder for 1/0 gauge wire?

    Thats a pretty big fuse holder.



    They call me the FireNurse

    Refs:
    Nebraskaz71
    FoxPro5

  7. #37
    Decado's Avatar
    Decado is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,121
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by bigrobrn
    where is the best place to get an external fuse holder for 1/0 gauge wire?

    Thats a pretty big fuse holder.
    http://www.knukonceptz.com/productDe...m?prodID=FH-20





    The Rest Of My System:
    -Orion HCCA-D2400 Amp
    -RE SX 15" Subwoofer
    -MTX Thunder 564 4-way amp
    -OlogyAudio Dayton RS Component Set
    -Sirius Satellite Radio

  8. #38
    bigrobrn's Avatar
    bigrobrn is offline Senior VIP Member



    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    is the fuse in the alt pos to batt pos absolutely necesary???

    even if NOT going through the fuse box???

    Thanks



    They call me the FireNurse

    Refs:
    Nebraskaz71
    FoxPro5

  9. #39
    Jared530's Avatar
    Jared530 is offline Drop bombs



    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca
    Posts
    2,259
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    i would love to do this, but reading the directions is like reading chineese to me. lol. anyone wanna come to my house and do this for me? lol




  10. #40
    taosd's Avatar
    taosd is offline Member



    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Just did the big 3 on my 2001 Saturn L200... Unfortunatly it did not erradicate my Dimming woes. The dim only occurs for a split second when the bass hits, which leads me to believe that the Alternator CAN handle the power, it just takes that split second to kick in, perhaps the volage regulator on the alternato. Anywho, I'm bummed out that it didn't solve my problem...



    HU: Pioneer Premier F90BT
    AMP: JL 500/1v1
    SUB: JL 12W6V2 D4 @ 2 Ohms
    CAR: 2005 Nissan Maxima SL
    BOUGHT FROM: dropped_mazda, qcsfinest704

  11. #41
    johnecon2001's Avatar
    johnecon2001 is offline SSA/ROE Super-Møderator

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,137
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    The Big three is not an end all be all to your problems.

    What size wire did you do the upgrade with? You're not even close to pulling over 1000w with your current system listed in your sig.. so perhaps you have some other issues with your car.
    You should take your car to AutoZone or Checker and get a free electrical system check up. They'll be able to tell you if you need a new alt or battery (most likely battery).




    Don't PM me, I'm not here. Find me on SSA or ROE
    No, I won't re-upload the Big3 pictures. Don't ask.

  12. #42
    taosd's Avatar
    taosd is offline Member



    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    111
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    I used 1/0 awg from KnuKonceptz. I do have 14.5 ish volts running accross the poles on the battery, and it only drops about 1 v when it hits.... but it does result in dimming. Come to think of it, the lights dim ever so slightly, for a split second when I use the power windows too (without the stereo on). Do you know if Partsource does free electrical system checkups?



    HU: Pioneer Premier F90BT
    AMP: JL 500/1v1
    SUB: JL 12W6V2 D4 @ 2 Ohms
    CAR: 2005 Nissan Maxima SL
    BOUGHT FROM: dropped_mazda, qcsfinest704

  13. #43
    johnecon2001's Avatar
    johnecon2001 is offline SSA/ROE Super-Møderator

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,137
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by taosd
    I used 1/0 awg from KnuKonceptz. I do have 14.5 ish volts running accross the poles on the battery, and it only drops about 1 v when it hits.... but it does result in dimming. Come to think of it, the lights dim ever so slightly, for a split second when I use the power windows too (without the stereo on). Do you know if Partsource does free electrical system checkups?

    No idea. Try calling them on Monday.




    Don't PM me, I'm not here. Find me on SSA or ROE
    No, I won't re-upload the Big3 pictures. Don't ask.

  14. #44
    Jared530's Avatar
    Jared530 is offline Drop bombs



    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca
    Posts
    2,259
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    how much 0g wire should i buy for this whole project, for a 95 accord?




  15. #45
    johnecon2001's Avatar
    johnecon2001 is offline SSA/ROE Super-Møderator

    Threadstarter


    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,137
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Jared530
    how much 0g wire should i buy for this whole project, for a 95 accord?

    Got a measuring tape?




    Don't PM me, I'm not here. Find me on SSA or ROE
    No, I won't re-upload the Big3 pictures. Don't ask.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 63 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 53 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The Official Type R Thread
    By justchillin in forum Subwoofers
    Replies: 2910
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 01:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts

1e2 Forum