+ Reply to Thread
Page 14 of 63 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ... LastLast
Results 196 to 210 of 945

Reload Thread: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

  1. #196
    audiobahnuser18's Avatar
    audiobahnuser18 is offline CarAudio.com Veteran



    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Mi
    Age
    26
    Posts
    10,082
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    I got a 2 pioneer 12's running 800 to each sub with a mono block digital audio amp running 4 awg to with a anl fuse and fuse holder upfront and running street wires 16awg speaker wire to the sub's. would it be a good idea for me to run the big 3 in my car?




    Refs
    Bigjon47 , JohnnyBussa , Mike Dressure , BTLking , Myjaja , Tapout , prowler573 , mommyvan , R-sosa , Audio Master , 95BlackGA , wu501 , Nismos14 , HawaiianBassHed , ECS23 , Bagged96Chevy, Donpisto , the other mike kmanian bumpin buick dumple wrench , guy , blazinb2000 , teen , phl1ser , Loud3 , Plyer3 , LazyRider , Jk32sho , MacQ32
    TreZ0r Is a lieing piece of sh*t scum bag SCAMMER!!!!

    REBUILDING IT ALL
    REFS:http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=353034




  2. #197
    Torgus's Avatar
    Torgus is offline Maxima.org



    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    387
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    i still wonder how well this really works...

    my father is an EE and when i mentioned it he thought is was pointless. unless there is a bad connection somewhere of course that would help.

    my alt to batt wire is rated for my alt. having it bigger doesn't make it send any more power nor faster nor more consistantly. Also it being a REALLY short run makes using a huge cable like 1/0 a bit overkill. there is no noticable voltage drop accross a short run such as alt to batt.

    redoing the grounds can definitly be worth it imo. assuming they arn't good in the 1st place.

    also if i put a batt in my trunk i don't see why i would need to run 0 to it...maybe 4 because of the voltage drop for a run that far but even then...it isn't going to charge any better it is limited by what my alt is putting out. it's not going to charge faster because i use bigger wire.

    any comments with actual logic. not it works shut up?


    EDIT:Always fuse to the size of wire you have. never to what your alt puts out.
    Last edited by Torgus; 02-18-2007 at 02:39 PM.




    2003 Maxima: Bodykit, 19'' Rims, Alarm, Eclipse AVN5500 DVD/NAV, Rainbow Profi Vandiums(front), Boston pro60s(rear doors), 2 12'' Sealed Type Rs, 0 guage, HiFonics & Diamond Amps, Optima, Suspension Work, Cleared 8k HIDs w/ DDE Angel Eyes, 8k HID fogs, Berk Intake, Phenolic Intake Spacers, Greddy SS Exhaust, Custom 2 Tone Leather Interior, Radar Detector, bunch of other stuff...oh and only 40k miles

    MAXIMA.ORG

  3. #198
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oak Hills, CALI
    Posts
    1,681
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    im doing the big 3 friday. and was wondering a couple things. would it hurt instead of doing - to chassis do - to body then body to engine block?




  4. #199
    TreyE's Avatar
    TreyE is offline Lets Get Weird



    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Tampa
    Age
    25
    Posts
    3,724
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    how about you guys update the pictures please so we know how to do it...



    Don't listen to me.

    Feedback - http://www.caraudio.com/forums/buyer-seller-feedback/227670-treye.html
    Also more recent feedback on caco.com under same username and eBay as Willy8788 100% feedback.

  5. #200
    Tiborsio's Avatar
    Tiborsio is offline Junior Member



    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Hi! Is it ok to connect the engine to chassis and batt - to chassis on the same spot?




  6. #201
    phenryiv1's Avatar
    phenryiv1 is offline Custom user title



    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Martinsburg, WV
    Posts
    565
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiborsio View Post
    Hi! Is it ok to connect the engine to chassis and batt - to chassis on the same spot?
    Yes. If it is a good grounding spot, that is the preferred option.




  7. #202
    soul05's Avatar
    soul05 is offline cookies or death??



    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    444
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    can someone reup the pics so i can finally do this to my car?



    system is under re-construction
    previous setup [mazda]:
    alpine cde-9843 (sold)
    profile ap-1000m (sold)
    image dynamics idq12

    new setup [saab]:
    stock hu
    xtant a6001 (sold), phoenix gold x400.1
    2 aa assassin 10 (sold), image dynamics idq12




    refs: khail19, jasonFL

  8. #203
    hypnotiq's Avatar
    hypnotiq is offline Beatin down the block..



    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chi-rock
    Posts
    201
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    just read it dude.. its explains everything..



    "You can always tell a deep bump from a cheap bump."- Hypnotiq

  9. #204
    na_rsx's Avatar
    na_rsx is offline Incriminator Audio FTW



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    With Jessica Biel
    Posts
    3,780
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    pictures will be awesome, at high volumes my light dims. i have a 2005 Acura RSX-S, and the stock battery. people always tell me to get a cap, but believe it or not, the people with caps still have dimming issues. i know the big 3 is the best thing to do, over a cap. i am ready to take on this project, but pics will help a whole lot.





    2005 Acura RSX-S

    Headunit: JVC KD-AR8500
    Front Stage: Vifa & Mpyre 65M *ACTIVE*
    System Amp: MB Quart DSC4125
    Wiring: Kicker Hyperflex
    Deadening: Edead SE2 and V3

    Refs:
    Bought from: mlstrass, archie, brchd, BigOso, bk12321, Ricky 616, IonSQL, SilverSPL, VIPER118, fived, jdiddy, Tacosys, ls2poweredgoat, SethPhillips, DB_DRAG_SPL, bjfish11, XaznKewLguy, Integra2468, Incriminator, bur1196, Goindef154, amartin_72
    Sold to: vitveet, aesoj, DejaWiz, jco1385, Lax916, iowaaurora, Zeuslicious, chrispizzitola, gkatmar, Racerx250, boltpride, zeed, Low_e_Red, xreymax, hrtbrk1, RKPsk8er, Anniku989, bradknob, andrios

  10. #205
    Peaks's Avatar
    Peaks is offline Sir Bumpsalot



    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Two Zero Seven
    Age
    33
    Posts
    336
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    It a ***** to get to the alt in a RSX I just had to do the big 2 in mine for now,but it will not help much till you do the alt + to battary +




  11. #206
    sdmtnbiker420's Avatar
    sdmtnbiker420 is offline GAME 4 SALE



    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Deezy 92111
    Posts
    1,255
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by phenryiv1 View Post
    Alright, I have an arguement that I need you guys to help me settle.

    After reading ALL 13 pages, it says in here numerous times to fuse to the wire, not to the alternator. Fair enough- I did that. I posted my pics and my writeup on a forum specific to my vehicle. In one of the pics, you can see my 200A fuse for the batt--->alternator wire. That sent people into a tizzy. Their argument:

    I responded that I had read on here and on sounddomain to fuse to the wire and not to the alternator. His response:

    Then, a second guy chimed in:

    So it got me thinking- WHY do we fuse to the wire and not to a rating just above the rated output capacity of the alternator? Since in theory, anything ABOVE the rated output from the Alt SHOULD blow your factory fuse, you have effectively sidestepped that safety device (the factory fuse) and now we have exposed the OEM electrical components to a spike or surge that it is not designed to take.

    I want to think that the advice that I get on a car audio forum is more accurate than that on a general automotive forums, as it applies to 12V matters, but I wanted to see if anyone here could give me some supporting info on WHY we fuse to the wire, regardless of the factory wiring and electronics capacities.
    HAHA!! These people are crazy, this mod will void whatever full coverage insurance you might have had, when they find that monkey boy wiring job under the hood!


    Last edited by sdmtnbiker420; 04-13-2007 at 11:14 AM.



    2000 Infiniti QX4 - louder than you
    1989 Honda CRX - faster than you

  12. #207
    Pennybags's Avatar
    Pennybags is offline Junior Member



    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    NM
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Torgus View Post
    i still wonder how well this really works...

    my father is an EE and when i mentioned it he thought is was pointless. unless there is a bad connection somewhere of course that would help.

    my alt to batt wire is rated for my alt. having it bigger doesn't make it send any more power nor faster nor more consistantly. Also it being a REALLY short run makes using a huge cable like 1/0 a bit overkill. there is no noticable voltage drop accross a short run such as alt to batt.

    redoing the grounds can definitly be worth it imo. assuming they arn't good in the 1st place.

    also if i put a batt in my trunk i don't see why i would need to run 0 to it...maybe 4 because of the voltage drop for a run that far but even then...it isn't going to charge any better it is limited by what my alt is putting out. it's not going to charge faster because i use bigger wire.

    any comments with actual logic. not it works shut up?


    EDIT:Always fuse to the size of wire you have. never to what your alt puts out.

    This is very true. If you are using the stock alternator, the wiring used was based on what the alt can put out. Installing a bigger wire on that end is not going to improve much due to the same amount of current being drawn through.
    If you have the same generating plant making the same amount of energy, a bigger wire is not going to produce more energy. It may make it easier to flow but will not make it produce any more or any less. I can see it helping on vehicles that have a bad electrical system design where it was not intended to be using a large portion of current from your alternator all the time. If that's the case, your alternator wasn't designed for that consistent amount of high amp use either. You might as well replace that with something higher while your at it.


    The ground wiring is something different. If your running a 4/2/0 gauge to your amp and your grounding it to a metal surface in the rear, your stock ground wire will be bottlenecked with the wire from the main and from the other 4/2/0 power wire you ran to the back. I can see where the ground wire being larger, or a larger one added as some have said, will improve in that aspect.




  13. #208
    blackslick's Avatar
    blackslick is offline Junior Member



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    The car im riding in is scion TC and i got optima D34/78 yellow top with tusami topper block on it.

    i understand how to do the ground wirings cus i know where to go but i got few question about the battery to alt postive.

    i talked to the guy at elemental design and he said its ok to make another wire from battery to the alt.

    ** should i go for extra wire to the alt and leave the stock battery to alt, or cut the stock wire and wire the big wire to the alt from the battery?

    ** can i use the D34/78 side port for battery postive to alt?




  14. #209
    phenryiv1's Avatar
    phenryiv1 is offline Custom user title



    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Martinsburg, WV
    Posts
    565
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by blackslick View Post
    should i go for extra wire to the alt and leave the stock battery to alt, or cut the stock wire and wire the big wire to the alt from the battery?
    Leave the stock wire in place and augment it with an additional wire. Be sure to fuse the new wire and keep it away from moving parts.




  15. #210
    blackslick's Avatar
    blackslick is offline Junior Member



    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: Official CarAudio.com Big 3 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by phenryiv1 View Post
    Leave the stock wire in place and augment it with an additional wire. Be sure to fuse the new wire and keep it away from moving parts.
    so will it be fine by just adding new wire to the alt?
    can i use the sideport to add new postive wire from battery to alt?




+ Reply to Thread
Page 14 of 63 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The Official Type R Thread
    By justchillin in forum Subwoofers
    Replies: 2910
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 01:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
1e2 Forum