Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Fiber glass sub box

slaphappy is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Icon32 Fiber glass sub box

I've got a single 12" eclipse titanium sub that I want to put in the back of my hatchback. Only one because I want to keep some space. I've never built a box before. I'm pretty sure I could figure out the volume for a regular ol' square box and build it out of MDF but I don't want that. I want something that will look like it belongs in my car. I have a basic idea of what I want it to look like but have no idea how to figure volume out for an odd shaped box and then apply it to the construction. I've looked at quite a bit of info on glass construction so I have a basic idea on what to do.

Part of the box will definately be MDF but the front will be glass. How do I figure the volume out ? How do I run the glass into the wood and make it hold so it's smooth and strong? And, how do I make a brace to hold the wooden circle that will eventualy hold the sub? This is my first time building, any help or guidance woud be greatly appreciated.

I could have a pro do it but I think the rewards would be much greater if I did it myself.

Eclipse 8051 head
    Xtant X604 running 2 pairs Boston Acoustic proseries 6.5 comps
    Xtant X1001 will be running eclipse titanium
    In a 2000 VW GTI

MikeofTulsa is online now The one and Only!

Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)

Re: Fiber glass sub box

Originally posted by slaphappy