Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Question about PowerWedge JL 10's

jmward27 is offline Beer Processor

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Question about PowerWedge JL 10's

All,

First off, I'm a newbie here so I appreciate in advance any advice and opinion. I used to be pretty hardcore into stereos, but getting married and having a child put a damper on that for a while. Last week I came across a PowerWedge w/ Two 10W0-8's for only $75 on eBay and couldn't pass it up. For an amp I have a Profile Baja 600 watt 2 chan (I know I know) that I got for free from a friend. Finally, I have a Pioneer DEH-P9300 headunit.

So, got all this hooked up and I was a little disappointed in how they sounded, keeping in mind what I have for an amp. I popped open the box to see what I was dealing with and encountered 2 things. First, they weren't wired in series. Second, they're packed with the fake insulation stuff. Now I know there are theories on insulation, but I've been out of the game so long I can't remember. I've since changed the wiring so they're in series.

So my question is...keep or pull the insulation? The PowerWedge box has the partition in the middle.

Also as a side note, my deck has the sub controls for the level, crossover and phase. At first, it didn't sound the greatest, so I put the phase on the deck to reverse and it sounds great.

SO, I appreciate everyone's input and look forward to any suggestions. Thanks!!

PhatalOne is offline Senior VIP Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Question about PowerWedge JL 10's

Well I'd keep the insulation unless you would like the bass to be a bit tighter. Second it sounds to me like your subs were out of phase (either they were wired wrong or the amp had the phase setting moved) and so when you reversed it you fixed that problem.