Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hi, Im new here...Sub question

Hey guys,
    I'm new to the car audio scene, but I've been around the Rx-7 forums for a while.

Anyways, I am in the market to upgrade my old JL 10w0 that I have in the car now. The amp is an older RF 800a2, which is a 2 channel amp and does 400 at 4ohms and 800 and 2 ohms. I built a really nice custom box to fit my hatch area, and I dont want to do that again as I invested a lot of time into it. The box has a gross volume of .76 cubic feet.

I want to stay with one 10" b/c hatch space is limited in my little car. I have narrowed the field to several subs. BTW: I'm looking for more SQ than SPL. The contenders are: the MBQ PWE 252, the Diamond Audio M3 or M6, the Eclipse Aluminum, or the Alpine Type R. This is a really hard decision for me, as all of these subs are very high quaility, but some of these subs are dual 4 ohm DVC, and some are the dual 2 ohm DVC that I can wire to 4 ohms - and this is my most prefered configuration.

My question is basically, which one of these fine subs dou you think will serve my needs the best. Also, the price difference may be substantial, as the M3 can be had for $90 - and the Eclipse and PWE are in the $250 range.

As far as the ohm issue - like I said, the car is a hatchback...so all sound is automatically amplified by this. I'm too old to give myself nosebleeds, all I want is something that will sound really good. I figure 800 watts into a single 10" sub at 2 ohms will be too much for me to bear. So I thought that 400 watts at 4 ohms will be good enough. I can take a dual 2 ohm DVC and wire it up to 4 ohms to get the 400 watts. If I was to use a dual 4 ohm DVC, then I would either need to wire it down to 2 ohms or up to 8 ohms. I dont want the 2 ohms for sure (another reason is that my RF amp may not be stable there) and I have no idea how a single 10" would sound at 8 Ohms.